Deirdre O’Donnell, PSM (Chairperson)

ODeirdre O'Donnellriginally a high school teacher of English and French, a good part of Deirdre’s subsequent career has been in the telecommunications sector, working with the former Telecom; the former AUSTEL; Optus; and finally the TIO, where she was Deputy between 1999 and 2001, and Ombudsman between 2007 and 2010. Between 2002 and 2007 she was the State Ombudsman for Western Australia, as well as the Electricity Ombudsman for that State. She has a strong interest in not-for-profit governance and regulation, and is presently a part-time Commissioner with the Victorian Commission for Gambling and Liquor Regulation. Deirdre lives in country Victoria.


Keith Besgrove

Keith BesgroveKeith has extensive communications policy/regulatory qualifications after fifteen years as a senior manager in the Department of Communications (2000-2014). During that time, he was pivotal to ACCAN's establishment; to securing its initial funding; and in shepherding ACCAN through subsequent government, four-year reviews.

Keith has a very wide range of experience of issues relevant to ACCAN. Aside from his work on consumer and disability issues, he developed Australia's first cyber security strategies; over sighted the creation of auDA; crafted legislation to combat spam and internet gambling; established the Do Not Call Register; helped adopt broadband in healthcare and education; managed spectrum sales; and reviewed the TIO. He was responsible for regional and indigenous communications issues for seven years including the second Regional Telecommunications Independent Review Committee, and managed installation of satellite phones and wi-fi points of presence in remote indigenous communities.

Since leaving the Department in 2014, he has worked with many not-for-profit groups, including Financial Counseling Australia and spent 3 years as an advocate at Energy Consumers Australia. He is a Chair of the Funding Committee for Dragon Claw -- a web-based service for rheumatoid arthritis sufferers; a member of the board of an arts company, the CAD Factory; and a governing member of auDA. He is a vice-Chair of Internet Australia, and a member of the ACS’ Profession Advisory Board.


Nadia Moffat

Nadia MoffatNadia is a highly experienced and qualified Non-Executive Director, Chair and Committee member with more than fifteen year's experience in business and not for profit sectors across Australia in corporate, telecommunications, health and community services. Nadia is a trusted board adviser in all areas contributing to an organisation's performance. Nadia’s tertiary background is in Economics and Accounting, these are enhanced by formal qualifications as a company director. Nadia’s scholarships include the Leaders for Tomorrow program and the Copland, Centre for Economic Development of Australia (CEDA) leadership program. Nadia’s global insight into social innovation through research and policy was enhanced by attending Eu-SPRI - a European Forum for Studies of Policies for Research and Innovation in Helsinki. Current directorship include Brain Injury SA, chair of the member and External communications subcommittee. Member Consumer Consultative Forum, Australian Communications Media Authority (ACMA), member, Health Practitioners Tribunal.


Holly Raiche

Holly RaicheHolly Raiche is adjunct lecturer at the Faculty of Law, UNSW and teaches undergraduate and graduate classes in the areas of telecommunications and broadcasting law. She is a Research Fellow at the Cyberspace Law and Policy Centre at the University of NSW.

Holly is on the policy committee of the Internet Society of Australia (ISOC-AU) and on the Board of the Australian Communications Consumer Action Network, Australia's peak body for consumer advocacy in communications. Previously, Holly was the Project Manager for Consumer Codes and Compliance Officer at Communications Alliance, Communications Advisor to the Australian Democrats party, and a Research Associate and Policy Advisor at the Communications Law Centre.

Victoria Rubensohn AM

Picture of Victoria Rubensohn AMVictoria Rubensohn has been closely associated with ACCAN from its beginning as well as predecessor CTN. Victoria is a lawyer with special expertise in intellectual property, international communications and media regulatory policy. Victoria is a former member of the Telephone Information Services Standards Council, the Australian Broadcasting Tribunal, the Bond Inquiry, the Mobile Premium Services Code Review Panel and is currently the consumer representative on Communications Compliance Ltd. Victoria also has extensive experience in the governance of not for profit organisations having been founding Director and Secretary of the Fred Hollows Foundation, Director and Secretary of the Australian Caption Centre and is a founding Director and Secretary of Media Access Australia and a Director of the Communications Law Centre. Victoria also has a longstanding interest in matters affecting remote indigenous communities, most recently through associations in Alice Springs.

Julian Thomas

Photo of Professor Julian Thomas - ACCAN Board Member

Professor Julian Thomas is Director of RMIT's Social Change Enabling Capability Platform, and Director of the Technology, Communications and Policy Lab in the University’s Digital Ethnography Research Centre. He works on new media, information policy and the evolution of communications technologies. He is the lead author of the Australian Digital Inclusion Index (Telstra, 2016-18), and has published widely on privacy, communications policy and regulation.


Sarah Wilson

Sarah WilsonSarah has been an advocate for the interests of consumers for the past 12 years. She spent years in policy roles at ACCAN and ACCAN’s predecessor organisation, CTN. As campaigns and community liaison officer on ACCAN's inaugural staff, she worked to ensure ACCAN's agenda reflected the priorities of the diverse membership. More recently, Sarah worked in senior policy and campaigns roles at the Consumer Action Law Centre (a specialist consumer law community legal centre), and has now moved into the housing advocacy sector. Sarah has governance experience, serving as a public member of the Telephone Information Service Standards Council and has also been a consumer representative on numerous bodies including the Telstra Consumer Consultative Council and Communications Alliance working groups. Having worked with so many ACCAN members over the years, Sarah has a good understanding of the issues impacting ACCAN’s member base and the broader community. Through her long history in consumer advocacy, she has established strong ties with the broader consumer movement and has a good grasp of its consumer protection agenda.


Gareth Downing

Gareth Downing

Gareth is a lawyer and economist, with experience in telecommunications economics and regulation. He has previously held a number of roles in the community sector focusing on economic inequality, poverty and the affordability of essential services.

Gareth previously worked as ACCAN’s policy lead on matters concerning the National Broadband Network where he helped to develop the organisation’s positions on broadband affordability. Gareth has also previously served on the executive committee of the Consumers Federation of Australia, where he worked on a wide range of consumer policy issues.