Main content

Alert message


Deirdre O’Donnell, PSM (Chairperson)

ODeirdre O'Donnellriginally a high school teacher of English and French, a good part of Deirdre’s subsequent career has been in the telecommunications sector, working with the former Telecom; the former AUSTEL; Optus; and finally the TIO, where she was Deputy between 1999 and 2001, and Ombudsman between 2007 and 2010. Between 2002 and 2007 she was the State Ombudsman for Western Australia, as well as the Electricity Ombudsman for that State. She has a strong interest in not-for-profit governance and regulation, and is presently a part-time Commissioner with the Victorian Commission for Gambling and Liquor Regulation. Deirdre lives in country Victoria.



Dean Barton-Smith, AM


Dean Barton-Smith AM has many years of experience in management and governance roles especially in the not-for-profit, telecommunications, health, transport, mental health, professional associations, sport, major events, emergency management, government and disability sectors. Formerly Chief Executive Officer, Deaf Children Australia and CEO of Victorian Mental Illness Awareness Council; LINK Community Transport and Australian Association of Practice Managers. He was also the Chairperson of the Australian Federation of Disability Organisations as well as Director of the YMCA Victoria. Dean has a strong understanding of telecommunications and consumer issues both in Australia and internationally, having previously been an Executive Officer at the Australian Communications Exchange for nearly ten years.


Chris Dodds (Deputy Chairperson)

Mr Chris Dodds - ACCAN Board member

Chris has been involved in the Community Service Industry for over 40 years in both a paid and volunteer capacity. This has included work as a childcare worker in a Women's Refuge, Coordinator at a Neighbourhood Centre and teaching at both TAFE and University. He served on the Board of NCOSS for 14 years including four year (2002-6) as President. He also served on the Board of ACOSS for eight years including five years on the Executive.

Chris represents ACOSS on and is also Chairperson of Telstra's Low Income Measures Assessment Committee (LIMAC) which oversees $200 million of assistance provided by Telstra to low income customers each year. At present he is employed as Senior Policy Officer for the Energy and Water Ombudsman of NSW.


Heron Loban

Heron LobanHeron is a Senior Lecturer within the Griffith Law School, at Griffith University. Heron is a Torres Strait Islander with family ties to Mabuiag and Boigu Islands. She practised on Thursday Island as a solicitor for many years, firstly as a native title solicitor at the Torres Strait Regional Authority, and then as a solicitor in general practice at the Torres Strait and Northern Peninsula Legal Service. She has a strong research background in Indigenous justice issues, and knowledge of the north Queensland context, having spent recent years at James Cook University in Cairns. Heron has been on numerous boards of Indigenous not-for-profit corporations including as the Deputy Chairperson of the Centre for Appropriate Technology (Based in Cairns, Alice Springs, Darwin and Broome). She also sat on the Government’s Regional Telecommunications Independent Review Committee in 2011-2012.


Nadia Moffat

Nadia MoffatNadia is a highly experienced and qualified Non-Executive Director, Chair and Committee member with more than fifteen year's experience in business and not for profit sectors across Australia in corporate, telecommunications, health and community services. Nadia is a trusted board adviser in all areas contributing to an organisation's performance. Nadia’s tertiary background is in Economics and Accounting, these are enhanced by formal qualifications as a company director. Nadia’s scholarships include the Leaders for Tomorrow program and the Copland, Centre for Economic Development of Australia (CEDA) leadership program. Nadia’s global insight into social innovation through research and policy was enhanced by attending Eu-SPRI - a European Forum for Studies of Policies for Research and Innovation in Helsinki. Current directorship include Brain Injury SA, chair of the member and External communications subcommittee. Member Consumer Consultative Forum, Australian Communications Media Authority (ACMA), member, Health Practitioners Tribunal.


Holly Raiche

Holly RaicheHolly Raiche is adjunct lecturer at the Faculty of Law, UNSW and teaches undergraduate and graduate classes in the areas of telecommunications and broadcasting law. She is a Research Fellow at the Cyberspace Law and Policy Centre at the University of NSW.

Holly is on the policy committee of the Internet Society of Australia (ISOC-AU) and on the Board of the Australian Communications Consumer Action Network, Australia's peak body for consumer advocacy in communications. Previously, Holly was the Project Manager for Consumer Codes and Compliance Officer at Communications Alliance, Communications Advisor to the Australian Democrats party, and a Research Associate and Policy Advisor at the Communications Law Centre.


Victoria Rubensohn AM

VictoriaR Victoria Rubensohn has been closely associated with ACCAN from its beginning as well as predecessor CTN. Victoria is a lawyer with special expertise in intellectual property, international communications and media regulatory policy. Victoria is a former member of the Telephone Information Services Standards Council, the Australian Broadcasting Tribunal, the Bond Inquiry, the Mobile Premium Services Code Review Panel and is currently the consumer representative on Communications Compliance Ltd. Victoria also has extensive experience in the governance of not for profit organisations having been founding Director and Secretary of the Fred Hollows Foundation, Director and Secretary of the Australian Caption Centre and is a founding Director and Secretary of Media Access Australia and a Director of the Communications Law Centre. Victoria also has a longstanding interest in matters affecting remote indigenous communities, most recently through associations in Alice Springs.


Julian Thomas

Photo of Professor Julian Thomas - ACCAN Board Member

Professor Julian Thomas is Director of RMIT's Social Change Enabling Capability Platform, and Director of the Technology, Communications and Policy Lab in the University’s Digital Ethnography Research Centre. He works on new media, information policy and the evolution of communications technologies. He is the lead author of the Australian Digital Inclusion Index (Telstra, 2016-18), and has published widely on privacy, communications policy and regulation.


Sarah Wilson

Sarah WilsonSarah has been an advocate for the interests of consumers for the past 12 years. She spent years in policy roles at ACCAN and ACCAN’s predecessor organisation, CTN. As campaigns and community liaison officer on ACCAN's inaugural staff, she worked to ensure ACCAN's agenda reflected the priorities of the diverse membership. More recently, Sarah worked in senior policy and campaigns roles at the Consumer Action Law Centre (a specialist consumer law community legal centre), and has now moved into the housing advocacy sector. Sarah has governance experience, serving as a public member of the Telephone Information Service Standards Council and has also been a consumer representative on numerous bodies including the Telstra Consumer Consultative Council and Communications Alliance working groups. Having worked with so many ACCAN members over the years, Sarah has a good understanding of the issues impacting ACCAN’s member base and the broader community. Through her long history in consumer advocacy, she has established strong ties with the broader consumer movement and has a good grasp of its consumer protection agenda.