Main content

Alert message

The role of the Panel is to assess eligible applications to the ACCAN Independent Grants Program and recommend the strongest to the ACCAN Board for funding.

Panel Selection Process

Each panel member is recruited for a three year term and is selected through a competitive process against selection criteria.  A sub-committee of the ACCAN Board assesses Expressions of Interest and makes a recommendation to the Board. Members are chosen based on their individual expertise.

During vacancies, we are especially keen to hear from candidates with a background in community sector project selection and management, commercial or consumer issues generally, and/or technical expertise and the social impact of communications technology.

ACCAN values diversity: women, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples, persons with disabilities and people from diverse cultural, linguistic and religious backgrounds are encouraged to apply.

Panel Expressions of Interest

For more information, including selection criteria and terms of reference, download the document below: 

Download: pdfPanel Expressions of Interest

Download: docxPanel Expressions of Interest88.06 KB

Panel Conflict of Interest Guidelines

Download: pdfPanel Conflict of Interest Guidelines.pdf127.69 KB

Download: docPanel Conflict of Interest Guidelines.doc77 KB


Independent Grants Panel - Current Members

Prof Gerrard Goggin

Picture of Prof Gerrard GogginProfessor Gerard Goggin has a long standing interest in consumer issues in communication, and how to design better policy and research concerning consumers. Gerard is Professor of Media and Communications at the University of Sydney, and is an Australian Research Council (ARC) Future Fellow studying disability, digital technology and human rights. Gerard was Policy Advisor for Consumers' Telecommunications Network (1992-1996), Deputy Chair of the Telephone Information Services Standards Council (TISSC), a founding board member of ACCAN, and has been involved in many other public interest and consumer organizations. He is published widely on mobile phones and mobile media, Internet, and disability, with key books including: Routledge Companion to Mobile Media (2014), Global Mobile Media (2011), and Cell Phone Culture (2006); as well as Disability and the Media (2015; with Katie Ellis), and, with Christopher Newell, Disability in Australia (2005) and Digital Disability (2003).


Assoc Prof Ellie Rennie

Picture of Assoc Prof Ellie RennieAssociate Professor Ellie Rennie is a Principal Research Fellow in the School of Media and Communication at RMIT University with expertise in the area of digital inclusion. Her research is focused on user practices and choices, and how these intersect with infrastructures, products and policies. Since 2010 she has been working with remote Aboriginal communities, looking at the social consequences of internet use. Her major project in 2017 is investigating cyber safety in remote Aboriginal Communities (with Telstra). She is also working on the social policy questions arising from automation and the ‘trust machine’ (blockchain). Ellie is a regular participant in Broadband for the Bush and participates in the Technology and Wellbeing Roundtable (initiated by the Inspire Foundation and the Telstra Foundation). She is Vice President of the Community Broadcasting Foundation.


 Robin Eckermann

 Robin Eckermann photo smallerRobin Eckermann has worked for almost 25 years in the IT industry, having first discovered broadband in the early 1990’s, and was convinced it heralded a revolution for the telecommunications industry. From 1996, he led the creation of TransACT from concept to funded company, then serving as Chief Architect during TransACT's $250m advanced FTTK/VDSL network rollout in Canberra between 2000 and 2003. Since that time he has consulted widely throughout Australia and abroad in the field of advanced network infrastructure, with involvement in many of Australia's pioneering network projects. He served twice on the Regional Telecommunications Independent Review Committee (RTIRC), reporting to the Parliament of Australia on the state of regional and remote telecommunications in 2012 and 2015. Robin is an Adjunct Professor at the University of Canberra, a Fellow in Engineers Australia and an inductee into the Pearcey Hall of Fame for lifetime contributions to the industry.